About State Council


The State Council (Majlis A’Dawla) was established after the issuance of the Royal Decree No. 86/97 on the establishment of Oman Council, which consists of the State Council (Majlis A’ Dawla )and  A’Shura Council(Majlis A’Shura ) . It enjoys a legal personality and financial and administrative independence. It is composed of a number of members not exceeding the number of members of the Shura Council. The Members of the State Council are appointed by a royal decree. It is one of the pillars of the Oman Council.
 In (2011), His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said has issued Royal Decree No 39/2011 granting oversight and legislative competences to the Oman Council (Majlis Oman).Then , the Royal decree No.99/2011 has issued to amend some provisions of the Basic Statute of the State. This is due to His Majesty keenness on the importance of participation of all individuals of society in the comprehensive development march in line with requirements of the desired progress. The amendments of the Basic Statute clarified the terms of reference of each council, membership terms, the number of members and the conditions that must be met for membership. The procedures of election or appointment, exemption and other regulatory provisions.

Chapter five ,article 58:

    On 6th  of November 1996, The Basic Statute of the Sultanate of Oman promulgated by the Royal Decree No. (101/96) stipulates in Chapter five, article 58:

Majlis Oman shall consist of :
  • Majlis A’ Dawla  (State Council): (Appointed Members)                                                                                          
  • Majlis A’shura (A’shura Council): (Elected Members)  

The legal statutes of the State Council:

The State Council shall practice these competences and carry out its duties in accordance with a set of procedures as stipulated Under Article 58 (bis 36,37,38,40,41,42) of the Basic Statue of the State as amended by the Royal Decree No. 99/2001
 The State Council may:
  • Propose draft laws , refer them to the government to study ,and then send them back to the Council after reviewed by A’Shura Council.
  • Approve or amend the draft laws referred by A’Shura Council and submit them to His Majesty for promulgation.
  • Review draft development plans and the Annual Budget of the State referred by A’Shura Council , make recommendations, and send them back to  the Council of Ministers.
  • Review a copy of the annual report sent by State Audit Institution (SAI),
Membership of the State Council:
As it is stated in Chapter five of the Royal Decree No.99/2011 on Majlis Oman , article (58) (bis1): that Members of Majlis A’Dawla shall be selected from following categories :
  • Former Ministers, Undersecretaries and their equivalents.
  • Former ambassadors.
  • Former senior judges.
  • Retired senior officers.
  • Those who are known for their competence and experience in the fields of science, arts, and culture, and professors of universities, colleges, and higher institutes.
  • Dignitaries and businessmen.
  • Persons who have performed distinguished services to the Nation.
  • Whomsoever His Majesty the Sultan chooses and who does not fall under the previous categories.
Also, the term of Majlis Al Dawla shall be four years of the Gregorian calendar commencing from the date of its first meeting, provided that in all cases it shall not be less than the term of Majlis A’ Shura.

Our Vision 

To consolidate A’Shura principles that emanate from the Society’s values and culture, keep abreast of current development and support the development process.


Our Mission

To strengthen the comprehensive national development march through exercising legislative and oversight function and establishing a community and institutional partnership to reinforce the national identity and authentic Omani values. 


Current rating: 3.6 (10 ratings)